Engine swaps everywhere at #MAVTV500

Championship contenders Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay, as well as 12 other drivers, are currently set to absorb 10-spot grid penalties for the MAV TV 500 at Auto Club Speedway due to unapproved engine changes.

Hunter-Reay was reported to be up for a fresh motor after he crashed in Wednesday’s extended test session at ACS, but today, INDYCAR officially announced that his title rival Power was changing powerplants on his own car as well.

The rest of the penalized, as of now, are:

Helio Castroneves, Team Penske
Scott Dixon, Target Chip Ganassi Racing
Wade Cunningham, A.J. Foyt Racing
Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Justin Wilson, Dale Coyne Racing
Graham Rahal, Chip Ganassi Racing
Josef Newgarden, Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
Simona de Silvestro, HVM Racing
Charlie Kimball, Chip Ganassi Racing
Simon Pagenaud, Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports
Alex Tagliani, Team Barracuda-BHA
James Hinchcliffe, Andretti Autosport