Notes: INDYCAR drivers take over podium at Rolex 24

A familiar team was on top of the podium at yesterday Rolex 24 at Daytona International Speedway.

IZOD IndyCar Series team owner Chip Ganassi celebrated his fifth Rolex win as a car owner, as his No. 01 team — which featured one of his IndyCar drivers, Charlie Kimball — took the checkered flag. Juan Pablo Montoya, Memo Rojas and Scott Pruett also contributed behind the wheel toward the special triumph.

INDYCAR also hit the other steps of the podium in Daytona as well. Series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was part of the runner-up No. 10 Velocity Worldwide team, and Justin Wilson helped bring the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing entry home in third place. Wilson was part of the No. 60 team in their 2012 Rolex victory.

Mike Conway will return to the IZOD IndyCar Series in a one-off this April at Long Beach.

Conway, who won the legendary street race two years ago with Andretti Autosport, will drive a second Rahal Letterman Lanigan machine, the No. 30 Honda, alongside Graham Rahal in the No. 15.

“The team has proven their speed and technical excellence in the past and I can't wait to start working with everybody," said Conway in a team release. "I worked with (RLL race engineer) Eddie (Jones) indirectly when he was Marco's (Andretti) engineer at Andretti Autosport so we would debrief as a group. He knows his stuff and has been around a long time so it should be fun working together.

"I hope to add more races for the upcoming season but in the meantime, I look forward to getting back on a circuit that I previously won on!"

In addition, team owner Bobby Rahal said in the same statement that the team has acquired "a new sponsor for IndyCar racing" and will be announcing it soon.

The team hopes to test Conway some time before Long Beach.