All You Need to Know About Sao Paulo

The Interlagos circuit in Sao Paulo hosts the final round of the 2013 Formula One GP. This year it is the 2013 Brazilian Formula 1 Grand Prix.

According to, the first ever Brazilian Grand Prix race event (1973) was held at this Sao Paulo Interlagos racing circuit, which is situated in the Interlagos suburb of Sao Paolo.The Brazilian Emerson Fittipaldi won the inaugural 1973 race, and n 1978 the race was moved from Interlagos race circuit to the Jacarepagua circuit near Rio de Janeiro. After an extensive $15m redevelopment programme during the heyday of Ayrton Senna, a Sao Paulo local, the race finally moved back to the Interlagos circuit in 1990.

Just go on Youtube and you’ll find plenty of simulation video of the Sao Paulo street course that will host the IndyCars next Sunday (11:30 a.m. ET, Versus). Now has thrown their own up for the “Virtual Lap” feature that we saw last year.

I still think that the right-hander at Turn 10 may be the most critical turn on the course, as it leads to the nearly mile-long backstretch — a good run coming out of 10 would appear important to obtain for the drivers as they try to draft up to other cars on the straight. But I also really noticed a narrowing at the end of the backstretch into that right-handed hairpin at Turn 11, which leads into the Sambodromo and the start/finish line. Combined with the high speeds and the surface change from asphalt to concrete, this corner could be a hot spot for accidents all race long.

I think this has the potential to be a pretty decent race down in Sao Paulo. And before you go, make sure to check out the formula 1 betting odds, so that you can wager on your favorite drivers!

As you can see here, it’s common knowledge that five Brazilian drivers have won the Brazilian Grand Prix, with Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna and Felipe Massa each winning twice, and Jose Carlos Pace winning once. The most ever is by the Frenchman Alain Prost, who has won it 6 times, and Argentine driver Carlos Reutemann and Michael Schumacher have both won 4 times.

On 10 October 2013 it was announced that the contract for the Brazilian Grand Prix had been extended until 2022.